
A dramatic moment unfolded during the IPL 2025 clash between Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) and Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) when Digvesh Rathi attempted a Mankad dismissal against Jitesh Sharma. The incident happened in the 17th over, when Jitesh was out of his crease and Rathi stopped his run-up to dislodge the bails. But the third umpire ruled Jitesh not out, leading to confusion among fans.
What Actually Happened?
Jitesh Sharma was batting brilliantly and stood at the non-striker’s end when Digvesh Rathi paused during his delivery stride and broke the stumps. It looked like a clear Mankad dismissal. However, the third umpire checked the footage and ruled Jitesh not out — not because of a withdrawn appeal, but due to a technicality in cricket laws.
Law 38.3 Explained
According to the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) laws of cricket:
A bowler can only attempt a run-out at the non-striker’s end before reaching the highest point of their bowling action — the point where they would usually release the ball.
In this case, replays confirmed that Digvesh Rathi had already completed his delivery swing and was past the release point when he dislodged the bails. This made the Mankad attempt invalid under Law 38.3.
Sportsmanship from Rishabh Pant
LSG captain Rishabh Pant appeared to withdraw the appeal and shared a light moment with Jitesh Sharma on the field. But that didn’t impact the decision, as the third umpire’s ruling was based on the law, not the appeal.
RCB Clinch the Win
Jitesh Sharma went on to finish unbeaten on 85 off just 33 balls, leading RCB to a successful chase of 228 runs with 8 balls to spare. His innings, combined with Mayank Agarwal’s support, powered RCB into Qualifier 1 of the IPL 2025 playoffs.
Key Takeaway:
The mankad attempt wasn’t valid due to bowler’s delayed action, and the rules of the game backed Jitesh Sharma’s not out call.
Stay tuned for all the latest Cricket news, match highlights, player analysis and viral moments!